How Is Domestic Violence Defined In Utah?

“Domestic violence” is defined by the Utah criminal code 77-36-1 as “any criminal offense involving violence or physical harm or threat of violence or physical harm, or any attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit a criminal offense involving violence or physical harm when committed by one cohabitant against another.”

Domestic violence is a very serious offense and should not be taken lightly. If convicted of domestic violence you could serve 180 days in jail, a $1000.00 fine plus restitution costs of treatments or services provided to the victim. If convicted of domestic violence you could also lose your right to own or possess a firearm and be deported if a non­citizen.

A criminal record could haunt you for years or even the rest of your life by keeping you from obtaining employment or housing, your very livelihood is at stake. You may have the impression that if a domestic violence charge is dropped by the alleged victim that you don’t need a lawyer. However, even if the charges are dropped, Utah prosecutors may still choose to prosecute you.

If you are facing a charge of domestic violence your future is at stake and you need professional legal counsel. Domestic violence defense Utah attorney Matt Nebeker has years of legal experience and is ready to help now. People who retain the law office of Matt Nebeker for their legal defense can be confident that they are in the hands of an experienced and dedicated professional who understands what is at stake

What Is A Domestic Violence Criminal Mischief Charge In Utah?

Domestic violence – criminal mischief is defined as a person who under circumstances not amounting to arson, damages or destroys property with the intention of defrauding an insurer or intentionally and unlawfully tampers with the property of another and as a result recklessly endangers human life, health or safety.

This type of offense carries a charge of a Class A or B Misdemeanor or a Second or Third Degree Felony. A heated altercation with your spouse that ends with property damage can add up to numerous criminal charges. A conviction could result in up to a $10,000.00 fine and 15 years in prison and will affect your civil rights to possess firearms and ammunition. A criminal record could haunt you for years or even the rest of your life by keeping you from obtaining employment or housing. This type of charge is a serious offense and should not be taken lightly.

You may believe that if the charges are dropped by the alleged victim that you don’t need a lawyer. However, even if the charges are dropped, Utah prosecutors may still choose to prosecute you.

If you are facing a charge of domestic violence – criminal mischief your future is at stake and you need professional legal counsel. Domestic violence defense Utah attorney Matt Nebeker has years of legal experience and is ready to help now. People who retain the law office of Matt Nebeker for their legal defense can be confident that they are in the hands of an experienced and dedicated professional who understands what is at stake

For more information on Domestic Violence In Utah, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (801) 309-6966 today.

Free Initial Consultation Get Help Now

You Are NOT Doomed (Fight Your Utah DUI)

Free Download

Fight Your Utah Criminal Charge

Free Download